top of page

8 Ounces: Interview With Dr.'s Batsi, Dabel & Downie of The University of Pennsylvania's


PLEASE WATCH:

The Following Interview Includes Accumulated Answers From Dr. Batsi, Dr. Dabel & Dr. Downie.

For those who do not know, what is CAPS?

Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS) is the counseling center for the University of Pennsylvania. CAPS offers free and confidential services to all Penn undergraduate, graduate, and professional students. CAPS helps students adjust to university life, manage personal and situational challenges, develop coping strategies, and grow personally and professionally. We offer individual, group, and couples therapy.

What inspired you to work in the field of Psychology?

I was lucky in that I knew what I did not want to do and I knew what I wasn’t naturally good (e.g., accounting, economics) so it made it a little easier to see where I might find value and meaning in my work. I knew I wanted to work in a job where I could help and be with people.

Always wanted to be in a helping field – drawn to medicine at first. Realized that I was a naturally good listener, counselor, supporter to my friends. A caretaker, like many women in my family, I wanted to find a way to use my natural skills and tendencies to support and empower others that would also have limits and boundaries.

I had older sisters who had mentioned their interest in being in a helping field so I was exposed to fields like psychology and social work as possible options.

I experienced a personal loss of a close family member and felt that there was a lot of value in being able to receive support in many different places including faith, family and other avenues such as therapists.

What are stigmas within minority communities that you hope to debunk and how do you plan to do so?

One stigma that exists in many minority communities is the idea that therapy is only for wealthy people, “sick” people, or those who cannot handle their problems on their own. Minorities have often also received messages, whether directly or indirectly, suggesting that asking for help is a sign of weakness. In many minority communities, vulnerability can be met with criticism and negative judgment about one’s capabilities. The truth is that we all need support at times. My hope is to continue working and engaging in dialogue with Black people and other minorities about the potential benefits of seeking therapy or other types of helpful support that they may not immediately consider as an option for them.

Asking for help is not weakness or failure, taking care of yourself and your own needs is not selfish.

If you do not mind sharing, what differences have you noted in psychological care between women of color and non-women of color? What are methods you use for women of color that wouldn't/don't apply to non-women of color?

In my work, I have found that women of color often are more reluctant to seek treatment and feel a sense of defeat in needing to consider going to therapy. It has also been my experience that once in therapy they may have some difficulty opening up or being vulnerable. This is not the case for every woman of color with whom I have worked, however. With the recent political climate, I have also found that more women of color experience and report race/culture-related distress (e.g., macroaggressions, discrimination, marginalization).

In general, I approach my work with clients by considering their individual needs and providing the appropriate support. Given that concerns with race and culture are more prominent for women of color, I try to provide as safe and supportive a space as possible for them to share their concerns. I also try to place emphasis on the importance of self-care and self-compassion with all of my clients, but particularly with women of color who often may not prioritize their own needs and well-being.

I think paying special attention to the therapeutic relationship becomes very important, where trust is key. At times women of color really want to know how invested you are in the work with them and need to figure out if they feel safe and can trust you as a mental health professional. I have to understand and respect that that trust is earned and not guaranteed just because of my position.

Therapy is sometimes seen as a last resort, when all else fails, which feeds into the idea of therapy being synonymous with failure.

There is a saying that therapists need a therapist of their own. How do you practice self-care?

I think this is so true! Engaging in my own therapy has been helpful both professionally and personally. I try to exercise, play tennis, my faith, spend time with friends and family, and I watch television that is not too serious or intense (e.g., reality shows) sometimes it is hard to watch serious content like the news or violent programming after a long day. I also try to think of ways to get involved in issues I feel passionately about that are somewhat connected to my work but are more around social issues.

What would you say to a woman of color who is grappling with mental illness in an unsupportive community?

There are good resources online that can provide some support (e.g. Nalgona.com) depending on what concerns they are experiencing. If possible, low cost therapy options are available.

Trust their judgement about what they are feeling or experiencing and work hard to figure out how to get the support they need outside of their community.

bottom of page