top of page

Nightride: Interview With Chell Bee, Founder of Lifestyle Blog ChellBee


PLEASE WATCH:

What inspired you to become a lifestyle blogger?

Many people don’t know my first blog was a beauty blog so I’ve been blogging for over 3 years now. One of the main reasons I started blogging was because I really needed a place to connect with other like-minded people, even if it was just about a love of lipstick. Over time I began to remember how much I loved writing. This was when I actually came up with the concept of Chellbee.com I wanted to do a lifestyle blog and switch gears. It came at a time when I really needed to express myself. I was having a lot of difficulty conforming at my 9-5. I needed a place where I could be myself without feeling judged. In all, honestly blogging became my happy place. Blogging became the place where I could be myself. Over time, it helped me to find my voice and champion my life goal of freedom.

On your blog in your About Me tab you have a quote stating, "Embrace Your Beautiful Imperfections". What was your journey in embracing yourself?

I grew up with two sisters who were always outgoing and outspoken. As a kid I was laid back, quiet, and private so I rarely ever spoke up for myself or on things I felt were important. I was always more of a listener and I would constantly observe and learn what others opinions were. As I grew older and more independent, I realized I didn’t really know who I was or how I felt about things. I found myself always hiding behind others opinions. Eventually I found my voice and I began to express myself. But there will always that part of me that’s fearful of rejection and confrontation. But I think day by day I have slowly begun to share more about myself and my thoughts via social media, my blog, my YouTube channel and podcast. The more I share the less fear I have to stand up for what I believe even its confrontational.

Your blog holds many articles featuring different perspectives of the Christian faith. What has your relationship with faith been like throughout your life?

I didn’t grow up in the church but I was raised to believe in God & Christ. So, my perspective is really that of someone who is a new Christian but committed to having a long-term relationship with God. I have been so blessed in my life. I have overcome a lot of obstacles and God has shielded me in a lot of dangerous situations even as a kid which is why I have always believed in his presence. Once I became an adult although I wanted to go to church I always found it difficult and never really felt welcome in the churches I would go to. Over time I completely strayed away from my faith. But after being dealt a tough hand at work and feeling as though I had absolutely nothing I told my focus to building a relationship with God. I started with daily devotionals, and then progressed to prayer, and eventually I began researching ways to read the Bible independently. All that research made me realize I likely wasn’t the only person looking to have a deeper relationship with Christ so I published my first book “Own It! Embrace Your Faith Journal”. I realized that my relationship with God and Christ didn’t have to be tied to church and could exist outside of those 4 walls. From there I just have been growing, learning, and trying to encouraging others to do the same by sharing my walk with God.

Black women are often taught to settle throughout life. As told in Ta-Nehisi Coates' Between the World and Me, black parents often abuse their children not out of cruelty, but to prepare them for the abuse they'll be subject to in the world. Did your parents prepare you for being black in America? If so, what lessons did you throw away and which ones did you keep?

I think when I was growing up my Mom was too busy trying to provide for us to teach us about how it would feel to be black in America. Also, because we lived in the inner city most of our lives our world was black. I had never met or seen a white person until I was 13. So, I think in that respect it wasn’t a thought at all because that wasn’t our reality. I definitely wish that we’d had those conversations at home because it may have made entering corporate America easier.

For me your blog, ChellBee is a place to escape and see another woman of color living her life fully for her and no one else. What is your advice to women of color trying to love themselves in a world that consistently tells them not to?

Be you. Love you for who you are right now. Don’t wait until tomorrow or until you change this one feature. Love who you are right now. Until you love who you are right now growth and happiness will never be a reality. We are all beautiful just the way we are. No one is perfect.

As a "...daughter of Christ, wife, obsessive planner, dreamer and puppy mom". How do you care for yourself mentally and/or physically?

Sometimes I have a hard time breaking away from work and really taking care of myself the way I should. The main thing I do is I don’t work on Sundays. It’s my day of rest where I’ll do my nails, hair, or just watch television. Recently, my family and I decided we would start having Sunday dinner which I’m really excited about {this Sunday will actually be our first dinner}. I also try to maintain hobbies like cooking, baking, coloring {can’t draw but I can color in a coloring book}, sewing {I just bought my first sewing machine}, listening to music, and journaling.

bottom of page