top of page

The Pinkprint: Interview with Helena Yohannes, General Manager of Trap Karaoke


PLEASE WATCH:

What was your journey in becoming a part of Trap Karaoke and what drew you to it?

Great question. I started out a Tour Manager and then I got promoted to General Manager. I started out just helping Jason because I had a background in events. Then we discovered that we actually have a really good working relationship. He texts me one day saying, “Do you like Trap Music?” I had to Google what he meant by Trap Music and I said to myself, “I guess I like Trap Music?” Then I replied to him, “Yes, I do.” That’s when he told me, “Good because we’re thinking about doing a show in Los Angeles” he wanted me to attend. I thought it was interesting that he was asking me about Trap Karaoke. I replied that I’d bring some friends.

The venue was small, Los Globos in LA with a capacity of 400 – 500. In L.A, everyone’s thinks they’re too cool to purchase tickets. So, I’m helping with production. Then the day of the show he flies out and it was sold out. It was his first time in L.A, I’d never heard of this. It was unheard of to have an event in Los Angeles on a Thursday that’s sold out. Seeing how good he is to people after coming from a very toxic work environment helped draw me in. I was working at the Writers Guild and I was doing advertising in sales. I was doing awards shows.

I was in the middle of leaving that and starting a wedding app with my twin sister, Feven, called I HEART SAVVY. We dissolved the company last September. A good leader listens and gets the people excited about what they’re doing whether it’s an app, or Trap Karaoke. Jason exhibits those traits. Which was the opposite of what I’d experienced. I got to witness firsthand this simple idea that now has these huge partnerships with BET, Jordan Brand, MTV, HBO and now we’re going on tour with 2 Chainz. That was really exciting for me and to see the audience is mostly women. That’s amazing. To see women, feel so comfortable, I’ve never been more complimented than when I’m in that crowd.

Living in L.A I give compliments all the time, but I rarely if ever get them. The women who attend are so comfortable and feel so safe becoming more supportive and complimentary. They don’t know it’s me, so these compliments are Ginuwine. Once when I was surveying I heard a group of girls in the bathroom saying it reminded them of being in college. There are women who attend for their Bachelorette parties. The name Trap Karaoke amuses me, so that also drew me in. It’s difficult to function as a black woman in America. So, to have an event like Trap Karaoke where the environment allows us to flourish and feel supported. I call it, Likes in Real Life, you feel validated. One attendee felt so free that she took her wig off to perform. Also, all the guys are so nice and respectful

Did you believe it would amass such a female following?

No because I didn’t know what to expect. This is beyond my wildest dreams.

Is Trap Karaoke something you wish was around while you were growing up, and what outlets did you have to express your love of black culture and black people?

I’m still growing so I’m happy that Trap Karaoke is around. I’m a political refugee from East Africa, I’m used to a community. I have an East African community that I grew up with and community is grained in our mind. We have guests always visiting and staying with us, we’re gracious and never show up empty handed. I didn’t grow up in a Black American community because we came to America when I was four and I was raised in the suburbs of Rochester, New York.

The older I get I wish I had something like Trap Karaoke to look up to or have in high school. The only dilemma is that it’s a 21 and over show. The sense of community it brings to each city it goes to is amazing and I’m grateful to be apart it now. My twin sister and I were the only of color students in our school, but we had each other so there was a community.

Were You the Only Students of Color?

I went to Brighton High School which was predominantly Jewish and very competitive. One day in the bathroom, a white girl looked at my sister and I and said, “you guys are pretty for black girls.” I was shocked because I attended High School in the 90’s. It always stuck with me.

For Most Black Girls Attending Predominantly White High Schools They Can’t Wait to Get Out, Myself Included. Is that How You Felt as Well?

I was very excited to get out of high school.

Instagram Helps Me Out a Lot with the Severe Isolation I Go Through.

Yes! Do you feel connected when you’re on Instagram?

Yes! Seeing People That Look Like Me, Living Regular Lives Helps Me Connect

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Greensboro, North Carolina, but being around my family protected me from that isolation. Then I moved to Morrisville, PA where the majority is 71% white and without the support of my family that isolation hit me very hard. Once I no longer had my family, I had no choice but to realize how intersectionalized my space in society was.

As I think, it’s pretty incredible what connections people your age get to experience, because I didn’t get to experience that at your age.

I’ve read that when attendees come they leave all fear at the door and just have fun. How does it feel to continuously create that experience for people?

I’ve got to give that credit to Jason. I’m so happy I get to be a part of that. As my sister and I are building our company it’s so cool to learn from him. People leave so excited. They leave with no voice from singing and having so much fun. It feels great to be a witness to all of this.

Do you believe that with enough representation and support, that black people will truly be able to love themselves?

Do you feel like black people don’t love themselves?

I believe that with the day to day trauma exposed to us, and it’s ingrained in us from the time we’re born to hate ourselves. From our hair, skin, facial features, mannerisms and colloquialisms. Then not being represented well or fully in the media. We’re often born into communities that can’t support us either fiscally, emotionally or both.

I’m so glad you asked that question. I also have a blog with my twin sister called “fevenaandhelena.com” We didn’t grow up seeing ourselves. We were completely isolated from beauty. So, we started a blog to provide that for ourselves and other women of color. We’re launching our own cosmetics, 241 cosmetics and eyeliner to fight that isolation. I’m from Eritrea where Lucy, the oldest hominid, was found. I’m from the place that birthed civilization. So, I carry the pride and strength of my people with me everywhere. It’s really important to spread that message especially with our President spreading hate and not love.

Things like Trap Karaoke are great because it brings people together in a sense of love and support. The black community is starving for that. It’s like a science experiment when I go to a drug store, MAC or Sephora because their cosmetics aren’t made for our skin. I’m all for proving to ourselves that we are beautiful and incredible. That’s why I love Beyoncé and Lemonade. She’s saying everything we feel. It’s hard to get up every day in America as a Black woman. It’s the hardest job anybody has. But look at how successful and accomplished we are. We’re so capable it’s frightening. I know I’m Oprah’s SuperSoul Sunday right now.

It’s okay, I’m Loving it.

As a woman of color who continuously dominates spaces that weren’t meant for her, how do you take care of yourself?

Wow, I love how you say dominating. I just keep on pushing and I work out a lot. I’ve had quite a road in life and even if I can’t make it to the gym I’ll at least walk 3-4 miles. I try to eat healthy and I admittedly need to sleep better. I’m so lucky to be around empathetic and supportive black men. Though I admit to my sister that it’s a little isolating being the only woman on the team. Jason is very in tune with that so he tries to overcompensate sometimes and make me comfortable. Sometimes I’ll forget when I’m talking to vendors and in venues that I’m the only woman. I’ve learned to take full advantage of that. Maya Angelou’s quote, “I come as one, I stand as 10,000” stays on my mind. Self-love is also very important.

How would you define being a woman of color?

I love it. If I could come back as any color it would be black. I love being black. I love where I’m from. I was born in a hut in Sudan. My mother didn’t know she was having twins, I came out 15 minutes after my sister. I love my culture; I love my people. I love my dad; he was freedom fighter in the war between Eritrea and Ethiopia. He taught me how it should be in a household. He has nothing but respect for my mother and the people in the Eritrean community that I’m from. That’s why I don’t take s***. I lived in a household where my mom would cook the dinner and my dad would wash the dishes. He pampered her and my mother is just so wonderful. I define being a woman of color as a struggle that I wouldn’t want any other way. I love my blackness.

bottom of page